Provinces in China

A Chinese province is an administrative division. Provinces, municipalities, autonomous regions and special administrative regions make up the “provincial level” of China that is under control of the People’s Republic of China. Each province has its own provincial party that is headed by a committee secretary. Below is a map of China with all of the different regions highlighted.

There are several types of administrative jurisdictions in China, including 22 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 directly controlled municipalities, 2 special administrative regions, and several disputed territories (primarily the Island of Taiwan, which is off the coast of Fujian). Several areas, such as China’s municipalities and Special Administrative Regions have been given special governmental status and increased levels of autonomy.

TriVista’s global consulting team provides guidance to foreign businesses operating in China. Learn More.

Get a FREE China Manufacturing Guide

for your free China Manufacturing Guide & a subscription to our e-newsletter.

From the China Blog:

Get a China Guide for Free

Get registered and receive access to all of our content!

for our free monthly newsletter &
a .pdf of our China Manufacturing Guide