China’s Special Administrative Regions (SARs)

A Special Administrative Region (SAR) was established in China via Article 31 of the Constitution of the People’s Republic of China in 1982.  Hong Kong and Macau are currently the only two SARs. Article 31 allows “the state” being China, to establish special administrative regions when necessary. SARs are their own administrative regions and have their own chief executive. They also have their own basic law, which state they are local administrations of the People’s Republic of China. SARs have separate political systems from that of the PRC and operate under a capitalist economy. Each SAR has high amounts of autonomy and the region comes directly under the Central People’s Government.

There are currently two SARs, Hong Kong and Macau. For more information on setting up a Macau Company or Hong Kong Company please click here.

SARs should not be confused with Special Economic Zones (SEZs). Click here for a description of Special Economic Zones.

TriVista’s global consulting team provides guidance to foreign businesses operating in China. Learn More.

Get a FREE China Manufacturing Guide

for your free China Manufacturing Guide & a subscription to our e-newsletter.

From the China Blog:

Get a China Guide for Free

Get registered and receive access to all of our content!

for our free monthly newsletter &
a .pdf of our China Manufacturing Guide